Requiem's Opinions on Certain Visual Novels (Part One)

So it’s been a while since I last wrote a blog post… For those of you who followed Otasensei years back, I was one of the writers there (Meister97). So with my return I’ll make a post about VNs.

So during my previous summer, I spent more time reading VNs than watching anime. So recently, it came I thought “Why not make a post about VNs?” So with that, this post came to fruition. This will be about my opinions on majority of the VNs that I’ve read, and not the ones that I only read during my 4 month summer break. (These are only my opinions so don’t think of it as a review)

Saya.no.Uta.full.264433
So the first VN I’ll be talking about is Saya no Uta. Saya no Uta is a VN by Nitroplus and written by Gen Urobuchi (Fate/Zero, Madoka, etc.). Saya no Uta has a great plot that really keeps you glued to your monitor. While there are only 2 points where choices appear, the endings are really great. Simply because the good/bad endings don’t exist and it’s all up to the reader whether the ending they got is good/bad. A bit of a warning to those who haven’t heard of Saya no Uta, if you can’t handle gore, then you should skip this.

grisaianokajitsu
The next VN I’ll mention is Grisaia no Kajitsu. Grisaia no Kajitsu is a really long VN by Front Wing and features character designs by Akio Watanabe (Monogatari series, TWGOK anime) and Fumio (Tomoyo After). This VN is about the 5 female students currently enrolled in Mihama Academy due to their own “circumstances”. The common route is really long, but is still enjoyable. The common route has a lot of military references in it. Here are my opinions for the individual routes:

Makina: Really good route, best one in the VN imo. While reading through Makina’s route, I really could not stop reading. The way the plot was delivered and all the thrills that I experienced kept my eyes glued to the screen. While the route is excellent, Makina ain’t my favorite heroine, I’d give that award to the next route I’ll mention.
Amane: Another good route; however, this one felt really long. This route probably is ~90% flashback. ~90% flashback in a really long route… it was really unexpected. Though the route may be ~90% flashback, the route is still very good. Why a really long flashback? It has something to do with her “circumstances”. This is my 2nd favorite route, but favorite heroine.
Sachi: While not as good as the 2 above, it’s still an enjoyable read.
Michiru: This one has a more sci-fi feel to it compared to the other routes. Since I’m not really into tsunderes as much, I did not really find this route as enjoyable as the 3 above.
Yumiko: Despite being a kuudere and all, I didn’t like her character while playing through her route. Her majority of the route is a wasted effort when you consider the ending and the ending itself feels very cliché.

Despite some of my issues with certain routes, I still find Grisaia no Kajitsu to be a good read. For now, I’ll be patiently waiting for its sequel, Grisaia no Meikyuu.

Hoshimemo

I’ll be sharing my thoughts on Hoshizora no Memoria now. Like Grisaia no Kajitsu, Hoshimemo has a really long common route. But the length is worth it because of the enjoyable moments in the common route. It is hard to give an opinion on all routes because I consider it to be a major spoiler. But I’ll try my best to avoid this. This order below is not based on heroine rankings, thus it is random.

Chinami: Worst character, worst route. Not a real fan of incest and Chinami’s character, hence the first sentence. Despite all the negative things associated with this route, it offers a good back-story on the past of the main character, particularly their family. You need to finish Aoi’s route to get this route though.

Aoi: The main characters neighbor with a sharp tongue. A tsundere (not a huge fan of them, though there are some exceptions) basically. Nothing special in her route to be honest.

Komomo: One of the best in the game. She may be a tsundere, but she becomes really likeable in her route. You’ll learn more about the town in this route.

Kosame: One of the best arcs in the game together with her twin, Komomo. This is linked to Komomo’s arc so you need to finish her’s first. Just thought of it as Komomo’s route told in Kosame’s perspective and a Kosame end.

Mare: This route is very short, because it’s a branch from the route I played before this (that arc was the best btw). Being a lolicon I really enjoyed this route.

Asuho: Typical deredere type character. She’s pretty much average in my opinion. In this arc you’ll find out about the main character’s childhood.

Hoshizora no Memoria is really enjoyable. The best route really brings tears to your eyes. The others can as well but not to the extent of the best route.

I don’t want to bombard you readers with loads of text immediately so I’ll cut it off here. I’ll post part 2 hopefully within a week (in a few days if I get the time).

One thought on “Requiem's Opinions on Certain Visual Novels (Part One)

  1. Pingback: REQUIEM’S OPINIONS ON CERTAIN VISUAL NOVELS (PART TWO) | Nihon Otaku-Hikikomori Kyoukai

Leave a Reply

